In August of 2014 we launched the Powhatan Pulse: A School Blog. The purpose was to strengthen our online communication with parents and to highlight a few of the great things happening in our classrooms. Each year we look back over the analytics of the blog to find the twenty-five most popular blog posts.

FUN FACTS:

As we looked over the metrics of the site, we ran across a few interesting stats. We’ve seen a total of 47,739 page views on the blog with an average time on the page that is 62% longer than the average for the Powhatan website. We have plenty of multimedia on the blog to bring Powhatan to your mobile device – 287 total blog posts including 35 podcasts and 151 blog posts with embedded video.  

Here’s the Powhatan Pulse from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 by the numbers:

2017-18 BY THE NUMBERS:

  • 72 blog posts
  • 13,602 views (11,737 unique views)
  • 6 posts included podcasts
  • 57 posts included video

AWARD WINNING BLOG:

Powhatan School won a 2017 Bronze InspirED School Marketers Brilliance Award for its school blog in a national competition that recognizes excellence in private and independent school marketing and communications sponsored by InspirED School Marketers, a website that provides “brilliant ideas and brain food” for private school administrators around the globe. The entries were judged by a panel of 66 experts who are professionals in peer schools or businesses that specialize in school marketing and were scored on creativity, impact, design, copy, photography and overall appeal. Powhatan won the Bronze Award in the Inbound Marketing / Single Blog Post category. The winning entry was the blog post: Leadership roles and a strong affirmation of the K-8 environment

PODCASTS:

This past year, the 6 posts with a podcast saw 1,658 views with an average time on the page that rests at 3:43 per view. Since the start of the blog in 2014, it is interesting to see that 6 of the 10 most viewed posts of all time have included a podcast.

VIDEO:

We embed video from our YouTube page in the majority of our blog posts. This year our YouTube page videos received approximately 118,197 views for a total of 154,969 minutes. These include new and previously created videos. During that same time period, we created a total of 49 videos ranging from experiences in pre-kindergarten to eighth grade. As a side note, our YouTube page surpassed 250,000 views earlier this summer! Check out the YouTube page here:  http://www.youtube.com/powhatanschool

 

Top-25 Blog Posts:

*We ranked the blog posts by the number of pageviews.
  1. Welcome Back Message:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/head-of-school-message/welcome-back/
  2. History Day Project:   http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/head-of-school-message/january-letter-powhatan-history-day-project/
  3. Shakespeare as Project-Based Learning: http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/shakespeare-project-based-learning/
  4. Computer Science:   http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/head-of-school-message/november-letter-computer-science/
  5. Dreams for Innovation and the Power of Vision:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/head-of-school-message/may-letter-dreams-for-innovation-the-power-of-vision/
  6. Pre-K Play Lab:   http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/head-of-school-message/october-letter-play-lab/
  7. Setting the Tone for the Year:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/food-for-thought/setting-tone-year/
  8. Economics 101: Second Grade Market Day:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/economics-101-second-grade-market-day/
  9. Intersection of Tradition & Innovation:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/head-of-school-message/december-letter-intersection-tradition/
  10. Class of 2013: Off to College:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/class-2013-off-college/
  11. Innovation is in the Air:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/head-of-school-message/september-letter-innovation-air/
  12. Kindergarten & First Grade Love Blandy Farm:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/kindergarten-first-grade-love-blandy-farm/
  13. Leadership & a Strong Affirmation of the K-8 Environment:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/leadership-strong-affirmation-k-8-environment/
  14. Vocabulary Word Dress Up Day:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/october-31st-vocabulary-word-dress-day/
  15. Congratulations: 2017-18 Posts/Rails Captains:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/congratulations-2017-18-postrail-captains/
  16. Pre-K Design Challenge: Iggy Peck:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/food-for-thought/design-challenge-iggy-peck/
  17. Innovation, iPads & Writers Workshop:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/head-of-school-message/june-letter-innovation-ipads-writers-workshop/
  18. Hour of Code Week:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/food-for-thought/hour-code-week/
  19. Where do your students go when they graduate:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/students-go-graduate/
  20. Exploring the 5 C’s:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/food-for-thought/exploring-five-cs/
  21. PBL – Ancient Civilizations:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/pbl-ancient-civilizations/
  22. Royston’s Regatta – Cross Curricular Learning:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/food-for-thought/roystons-regatta-cross-curricular-learning/
  23. Escape Room Challenge:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/food-for-thought/escape-room/
  24. Communication Skills – Eighth Grade Tradition:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/in-the-classroom/eighth-grade-tradition-chapel-talks/
  25. Author Study:  Yes, Public Speaking starts in Kindergarten:  http://powhatanschool.org/pulse/food-for-thought/author-study-yes-public-speaking-starts-kindergarten/